CANADA

Alright I’m back on the road again which means I’m also back on the blog! This time solo, although I’m still trying to convince Martha to come to New Zealand 😉 I think it might be working… On my way to New Zealand I decided to stop in Edmonton, Canada. I wanted to see Maddy and Desiree, the two girls Martha and I met in Chiang Mai and continued to travel with through Laos and Vietnam. I spent 6 days living with Des and bopping around Edmonton. I could literally eat my way through that city there are so many fun eateries and cafes! Edmonton is a cool city, it has so many festivals and artists of all sorts. Maddy and Des both do theater. I went to Desiree’s dress rehearsal for a show she was directing. I loved seeing her in her element. Hopefully I can see them both perform someday, I’d love that. Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset IMG_9808 One night we went to a 90’s themed party at a bar in Edmonton. They were serving shitty alcohol you’d drink in high school and that was it. We dressed in all denim and it was hilarious. Then we went to The Buckingham which only plays music from the 50’s-70’s. It was probably the funnest bar I’ve ever been too even though we were the only ones dancing! Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Saturday morning I met up with Brett, who I found on a bus in Cambodia over the summer and traveled with for three weeks. He brought his Fiancee Erica and her Sister Adrienne to meet me at Sugar Bowl for breakfast.  Brett and Erica live 5 hours north of Edmonton in Fort Mac. Erica and her sister were going wedding dress shopping! It was so good to meet Erica finally because we heard so much about her while traveling with Brett- she’s so sweet! Unfortunately we only had an hour to hang out because we all had stuff going on but it was SO SO SO fabulous to see Brett and meet Erica and her sister! It was all so quick that I’m still like WHAT, I saw Brett?! Next time will be a longer visit for sure!

After breakfast with Brett, Maddy, Desiree, Erik and I left for Banff National Park. It’s about five hours from Edmonton. We stayed in a hotel and went to Banff Brewing Company for dinner. We went to Lake Louise the next morning and went ice skating. It was so beautiful at Lake Louise and it was snowing! It felt like Christmas. Basically we ate a lot and enjoyed the mountains! Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset IMG_9862 Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset  Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset The four of us went for dinner at the Banff Springs Hotel, AKA HOGWARTS. We got wine and a medley of cheeses, meats, and pickled items to share. It was delicious and the view from the hotel was incredible, see below.. We got to the hotel at peak time for sunset; the colors were beautiful. DSC_0724 DSC_0725 DSC_0729 Maddy and Des were such good hosts and spoiled me! I can’t wait for our next adventure! DSC_0735 Seeing Maddy, Desiree and Brett made my heart happy 🙂 It’s crazy how close you become in such a short amount of time with the people you meet traveling. Until next time guys!

Leave a Reply

