Tauranga and Makara Walkway

A few weeks ago I took a lengthy bus ride up to Tauranga to visit my friend Kate who I met in Australian History class two years ago. I was still homeless at this point so it was a good time to go up and visit before she moved to Melbourne. Kate and her family welcomed me and spoiled me for the few days I was there. Her family is so wonderful, kind and warm.

Kate and I hiked up to the summit of Mount Maunganui. The views from the top were stunning and I could not stop staring out.

DSC_0743

Kate!:)

DSC_0708

Kiwi Kipp

DSC_0765DSC_0735DSC_0752IMG_0614

Kate and I walked around Maunganui town and laid out on the beach for a few hours. We also walked the circumference of the mount because it’s a nice leisurely stroll that offers some awesome view points. I could do that every day if I lived there.

_______________________________________________________________________________

Today, Katherine, Mads, Francesca and I drove 30 minutes to Makara Beach to hike the Makara Walkway. This track follows the coast to a large field of windmills, which I find kind of majestic. We were meant to do the 8km hike but we took a wrong turn and it ended up being somewhere between 10 and 12km instead. Woops. It was so beautiful it didn’t even matter. On the way out we hiked up the hills and through the trees to the windmills. On the way back we walked on the beach following the coastline. Wellington doesn’t have the nicest beaches….You wouldn’t go to Makara to sunbathe. It’s super rocky and has a shit ton of driftwood everywhere. But beautiful to look at nonetheless. I loved this day because it was peaceful, sunny, and the perfect day trip.

DSC_0251

Katherine and I

DSC_0230

My flatmate Francesca and I

DSC_0199DSC_0200DSC_0214DSC_0225DSC_0235 DSC_0266DSC_0288 DSC_0295

DSC_0292

The South Island in the distance

DSC_0296DSC_0321

And random, for people who want to know-

my address is:

6/267 Cuba Street, Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand

if you send a package please send it to my work:

Anna Langer: Level 2, 42 Kelburn Parade, Kelburn, Wellington 6012, New Zealand

One thought on “Tauranga and Makara Walkway

Leave a comment